America, Culture, Family, Funny

May the Odds Be Ever in Your Favor

When you think about starting a business, there are a lot of things you think about. Start-up costs, profit margins, taxes, etc. I’m just now realizing all the things that I didn’t ever think about. Like the fact that I’m going to be expected to conduct job interviews when I, myself, have never actually been through a job interview. And the fact that we have to be civic and sign up to do events, like Teacher Expos and Business Fairs. The Teacher Expo was the first of such events, which I wrote about here.  
If you’ll remember, I traded a t-shirt for a grilled chicken salad. So, it was a good day. We joined our local Chamber of Commerce and they recently hosted a Local Business Fair. I was reluctant about signing up to have a table there because it required giving up a Saturday. But, Jake insisted, so here’s me. 


Each event like this is pretty similar. People come around and ask you about what you do, chit chat, take a business card, etc. But, this one was a little different. This business fair required each table to have a drawing for a door prize. Attendance was a little lacking for most of the morning, so I decided that the odds would be in my favor if I entered every drawing there. So, I did. 

My thought was: I gave up my Saturday to be here, I’ve talked to all of the tables about their businesses, the odds that I’ll win are good, why not take advantage of the situation? 

Let it be known that Jake called me ridiculous for entering all the drawings. 

Well, it turns out that my instincts were good. At the end of the day, I had 4 different booths approach me to tell me I’d won. 

I came away with a lawn chair, a fall plant, and two $25 restaurant gift certificates.


Am I ridiculous? Yeah, ridiculously smart. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

