Uncategorized

First Friday

I’ve got two instructions: 

1. pay attention to the time

2. no public sleeping

The second one is a legitimate concern because right before the instruction was given to me, I was trying to devise a way in my mind to sleep on top of my luggage in the airport so that if anyone bothered it, I would wake up. Guess I won’t be doing that. 

This isn’t my first time traveling alone, but I guess it’s my first time going this far and for this long by myself. So, it’s a little bit of a first.

A girl in the airport bathroom asked me if this was my first time to fly. I was in the middle of brushing my teeth (and trying to decide if the tube I’d squeezed onto my toothbrush was full of toothpaste or hand soap) so I felt like that was maybe a good indication that I wasn’t new at this. Or possibly that I was completely new at this and didn’t have a clue. It could go both ways, really. 

She needed help with her boarding pass because it was her first time flying. She handed me the paper and asked me where she should go. She thought her gate was 952A. We’re at a small airport, so I knew she must’ve been confused. I explained to her that she was leaving at 9:52 am and her gate assignment would be on the board. 

To which she responded: where’s the board? 

I’m not good at giving directions, we all know this. So, I gathered my things, having happily decided that I did, in fact, use toothpaste and not hand soap, and went outside with her to see what gate she needed. We found it and she told me that she was flying by herself and was going to visit her boyfriend in North Dakota and she had no idea how to navigate everything. 

I can very much sympathize. Not because I have a boyfriend in North Dakota that I’m going to see. But because I’ve been in her shoes, traveling by myself for the first time.  And, because navigation is not my strong suit either. 

Which is why it was surprising to be asked for help in finding something. And even more surprising that I was able to help. 

Looks like there’s a first time for everything. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

