Beauty, Health, Religion, Travel

Enough is Enough

Magazines are good for two things: airports and waiting rooms. I tend to like books better, but when I read a book, I usually get lost in it. So, magazines are my answer to casual reading. 

There was an interview with an actress in a magazine I was reading recently. She’s smiling, all glossy and beautiful on the cover. In the interview, the author of the article is asking her the typical questions: what’s your secret to looking so good? What’s your daily skin care routine? What tips do you have for how to eat healthy? And she’s giving all the right answers about exercise and SPF and healthy diets. But they asked her another question that caught my eye. What’s your greatest fear? And you know what she said? I’m terrified of not being enough. 

Enough is a word I’ve been thinking about for awhile. I’d been thinking about it before I read this article, which is why it caught my eye. For me, sometimes, Scripture will jump off the page and speak to me. And I think it’s supposed to. But it’s not always the major Scriptures, the ones from the Gospels and Romans, the big ones. Sometimes the Lord speaks through the tiny details. Which is what I found in this verse. It stayed in my mind. Joel 2:19: “The Lord answered their prayers and said, I will give you enough grain and wine and olive oil to satisfy your needs.”

What is enough? See, that’s what I love about this verse. They had been going through a rough time. They had turned their backs on God, famine had taken over their land, crops were no good, animals were starving, all around catastrophe. Finally, they turned back to the Lord and He gave them this promise. 

Enough. 

He didn’t say He was going to rescue them immediately and turn everything around. He didn’t promise abundance. He promised enough. 

For the actress, she was scared of not being pretty enough or smart enough. But enough means different things to everyone. I worry about doing enough, having enough time, getting enough sleep, learning enough, being enough of whatever anyone needs me to be, and a million other enoughs. 

I don’t think the Lord’s promise applied only to the rebellious Israelites though. I think it applies to me too. The Lord will provide. He will satisfy my needs for today. His Promise is true. 

And that’s enough for me. 

Standard

One thought on “Enough is Enough

  1. Pingback: Statistic Stories | brittneylorelle

Leave a Reply

