America, Asia, Culture, Travel

Oh Say, Can You See? 

For Halloween, I thought I’d be an annoying American tourist until I realized that I already am.

We went to see a big Buddha up on a mountain. I’m sure it has a better name than that, but I don’t know what it is. So, that’s what I’m calling it.

Anyway, I didn’t know what to expect when we got there but it was actually a really neat little area, complete with a bunch of shops and places to take pictures.


I was so impressed with it, that I exclaimed loudly, this is way better than the Wall of China! Then, I realized that we are technically in China and that Wall is the pinnacle symbol of their national pride. Oops. Probably should’ve kept that observation to myself.

Me in a sea of Chinese tourists

 

To get up to this mountain with the Buddha, we had to ride a cable car. And Jake was feeling extra special since it’s his birthday, so he booked us the “crystal cabin”. Sounds fancy, right? I’ll break it down for you. He booked us a glass box to ride up a mountain in. It was precarious to say the least.

Not a fan of heights? Don’t go anywhere with him. It was like zip lining in a box. For thirty minutes.

 

Waterfall under my feet

On our way up, we shared the cabin with two couples from Venezuela. But on our way back, we got one all to ourselves. So, we Skyped with our parents so they could enjoy the view too.

 

Family photo

 

Then, after that, we took some goofy pictures and waved at the others going up in their boxes.

 

This was funny at the time, trust me

 

Then, I was so overcome with national pride for our own country that I decided to sing our national anthem. And a medley of other patriotic songs. Which was really funny to both of us. Until we were coming back in to the cable car station and realized that our windows were open and everyone waiting in line to get on a cable car was able to hear my rousing rendition of “You’re A Grand Old Flag.”

Annoying American tourist? Yep, nailed it.

Standard

One thought on “Oh Say, Can You See? 

Leave a Reply

