Uncategorized

A Bushel and A Peck

What is it with me and ovens? I cannot keep from burning myself. I made sweet potato fries for my friends the other night and accidentally left a fork in the pan. Put it in a 350 degree oven, checked it thirty minutes later, saw that there was a fork there that didn’t belong, and what did I do? Promptly reached in the oven and grabbed it. Do you know what forks are made of? Metal. Do you know what the heat conductivity of metal is? Really good. About .825 seconds after I grabbed the fork, I remembered that too.

Speaking of sweet potatoes and remembrance, do you remember those little delicate baby sweet potato slips I grew in the spring? I planted them in the soft soil, watered them and kicked them out of the nest, metaphorically speaking, of course. And, here we are.

The picture below represents 2 plants. Remember, there were 108 planted. So, only 106 mounds like this left to harvest. Think I went a little overboard?


I planted them on May 5. I’ve never grown the purple ones but the variety I got from the store were tiny and uniform. So, you would assume that they grow like that. Wrong. They’re huge, just like the orange ones.

 

The three pounder

 

I’ve mentioned my dead apple tree before, right? Well, I’m currently in the process of picking out three new ones to replace the tree that died. So, my apple harvest was non-existent this year.

Luckily though, my friend is giving me a glimpse into my apple picking future because she has seven apple trees that were loaded with fruit. And I scored a harvest invite. (And, yes, a harvest invite is a real thing in my life and not only a real thing, but a prized treasure. Cherish it.)


I went to pick apples with her which, if we’re being honest, mostly consisted of me standing around gabbing while she picked. But, I got a bushel basket full at the end of it. Literally, we weighed it. It was 40 pounds of apples.


What do you do with 40 pounds of apples, you might ask. Jake decided we should make apple chips (AKA nature’s donuts) with our fancy dehydrator. So, we did.

We also happened to accidentally wear the same shirt. Sadly, this is not the first time this has happened and leads me to be about 93.7% certain that we share the exact same brain.

Standard

Leave a Reply

