Culture, Family, Outdoors, Travel

Better Late Than Never

We’ve talked about my perpetual lateness before. That was the only thing I ever got detention for in school. I was late to first hour probably 3 out of every 5 days. Even if I was on time to school, inevitably someone would stop me to talk in the hallway and I’d still be late. So, I served my sentence for it. This time I have a good excuse for my lateness though, namely Canada’s lack of wi-fi and cell reception. So, you’ll get the full story, just a week late.
I think some of my earliest memories center around fishing and the water. I love being around water. My dad started me out when I was tiny. I remember my first little fishing pole, with a rubber cork tied to the line, and him teaching me to cast in the front yard. We had this little green boat that he’d take us out on the water in and I thought that was about the coolest thing you could do. It wasn’t fancy, it wasn’t big, it wasn’t fast. We weren’t catching huge fish or anything like that. But, it was the start of a life long love of the outdoors, passed from one generation to the next.


I couldn’t even begin to tell you how much time I’ve spent fishing with my dad over the years. A lot. So three years ago, when he suggested a trip to a fish camp in Canada, I thought that sounded like a pretty good idea. We made the 20+ hour drive and let me tell you, I never even imagined how remote it was going to be. Just you and the water and the sky. Beautiful.

It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I’m rather fond of it. Time is our most precious asset and spending genuine time with the people you love, doing the things you love is important. Catching fish is just a bonus.

Standard

Leave a Reply

