Culture, Farm, Food

Afternoon Explorer

Looks like I’m the proud new owner of a black baby calf. Should I say baby calf since calf kind of implies baby in the first place? Should it be either calf or baby cow? I’m not sure, but either way, Ellie just had her baby and he (72% sure it’s a he) is really cute.
Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 12.59.57 PM
As I said before, it has rained pretty relentlessly here lately. Which means a lot of things. 1) it means that my sweet potato slips are still in the windowsill, not in the garden because the ground is too wet to put them out 2) it means that the hay hasn’t been put up yet because we can’t get enough dry days in a row to let it dry out. 3) it means my raspberries are growing abundantly and 4) it means that the water gaps may or may not have washed out with the influx of so much rainwater.
Latest bounty

Latest bounty

What is a water gap, you may ask? Well in my own terms, it is a fence across the water to keep cows from passing through to land they shouldn’t be on. I’m fairly sure that’s an accurate description, but you’d have to ask someone more technical than me to be sure. We have land that has a creek running all the way through it, so after a big rain, checking the water gaps is one of the essential duties. After visiting my grandparents, my dad was going to check them and I decided to tag along because why not? And also because, while I love my grandparents, they can be kinda loony sometimes. I walked into their house the other day to see them both in a dither because my grandpa had committed to preach a funeral on the same day, at the same exact time that my grandma had committed him to preach a different funeral. Phone calls were being made frantically, calendars were pulled out, and in the midst of the commotion, my brother off handedly commented that it was strange to have two at the same time because it “wasn’t even funeral season yet.” To which my grandma agrees. Because apparently, around here, we have a funeral season. [It is true though, it isn’t funeral season right now. It’s wedding season.] My grandpa preaches a lot of funerals and weddings, in case you couldn’t tell.
Water Gap

Water Gap

Back to the water gaps though. I’ve been a lot of places in the world and done a lot of fun, crazy things. But I think what is best is when you can walk out your door and have adventure at your fingertips. Traveling is good, but home is really good too. I’m reading the Adventures of Tom Sawyer right now (I’m on a classics kick) and I think this is a scene straight from the book.
Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 2.19.23 PM
You know how sometimes you think of something and think that it is a good idea until you try to execute said idea and then it becomes apparent that it wasn’t a good idea? That’s usually how my brain works. So, I saw this tree that was down across the creek and thought it would be a good idea to climb on it. Why I think things like this, I have no idea. I like climbing. Anyway, when I saw it and thought it, then I had to do it. There was no turning back. So, I waded out into the water and discovered that instead of the 4 foot height I thought it was, it was, in fact, quite a bit taller. Making it nearly impossible for me to conquer. Emphasis on the word nearly. After jumping on some slippery creek rocks and coming close to falling down, I finally managed (with some expert maneuvering) to find a place in the trunk that looked like it was made for me to sit down on. Which confirmed (after the previous few moment’s doubt) that this was a good idea after all. Plus, it made for a cool picture. And, to add a final bright note to the day, the water gaps were in good condition. Looks like Ellie and her new little Elliott won’t be escaping to greener pastures any time soon.
Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 1.20.26 PM
Standard

Leave a Reply

