Culture, Fashion, Garden

Tech-No.

It’s another rainy day and my embroidery machine is humming quietly from it’s little corner. So, essentially, my life hasn’t changed at all. I think it has rained 20 out of the last 24 days. The rain is kinda bleary but on the bright side, everything is growing and getting all green and lush. I ride my bike in the evenings when it is a little drier and it smells exactly like you would imagine Shangri-La smells. To be honest, I don’t really know what Shangri-La is, but that’s what came to mind when I smelled all the green lusciousness.

The first of a very pretty harvest

The first of a very pretty harvest

So, technology hates me. Have I ever mentioned that before? I don’t know if technology is something that can be grouped into a whole category or something that can be assigned emotions, like hate. But, nevertheless, we don’t have a good relationship. Currently, I have two laptops that are open (one that is supposedly downloading an update for the fifth time and this one that I am typing on). Did I also mention that my brother decided I needed two monitors at my work desk? He read something about how much more productive two monitors can make you and my aunt in Mississippi had two. So, he asked her about it and they were discussing the pros and complete lack of cons (she’s thinking about getting a third screen, apparently). I overheard part of this conversation and lo and behold, the very next week, I show up to see two screens on my desk. They communicate with each other and everything, as in I can slide a screen from one to the other. I wanted to give the whole thing a cold shoulder, but I must admit, it really does help with invoicing. I’m still getting used to it.

My new workspace

My new workspace

I have this thing where I don’t like reading what I write. I’m not sure if that is normal or not. I am a major proofreader, so I read anything I write excessively right after I write it. But, once it is written and has my seal of approval grammatically, I typically write it and never really go back to it again. I have been writing a news column for a local paper for our church association since I was 12. {Side note: who nominates (yes, I was nominated for this position at church) a 12 year old to write the news column? I have no idea what they were thinking, but at the time, everyone apparently thought it was a good idea.} And, I have been writing it ever since. So, going on 12 years now… I don’t really feel old enough to have been doing anything consistently for 12 years. However, I do miss a deadline every now and again so “consistent” is a loose term in this case. But, my point was, I don’t go back and read the news columns I write when I actually receive the paper in the mail. I guess it’s just a quirk. My point I originally started to make before I ventured off into my writing history was that I don’t go back and read my old blog posts. My point I was making before that was that I went back to check something in one of them the other day and noticed that the links to some of the pictures were inactive and weren’t properly displaying the content. So, I emailed and had to go back in and fix all the pictures. Which takes me back to my very original point that technology hates me. See, I knew I was going somewhere with all of this. Wow, it took me awhile to get all that said. So, if you’ve looked at any of the older posts lately and the pictures weren’t showing, they should be now!

My most recent color chart

Do ya’ll see that massive color chart? Another recent addition to my workspace. The other day a guy called me and told me he was coming out to order some shirts. We almost never have anyone come to the shop to order, but I told him if he could find it, he could come. So, about thirty minutes later (thanks to Apple maps), he arrived and asked me what colors he could choose from. So, I whipped out my handy, dandy color chart and promptly displayed all 96 colors in the style he wanted. Talk about overwhelmed. I guess I’m just used to it since I deal with the intricacies of all the different shades of blues and greens everyday. My friends think it’s a fun parlor trick to have me identify the different colors and style numbers of the shirts they wear. I thought everyone could identify a Gildan 5000 Galapagos Blue tee from a mile away? Apparently not. Speaking of shirts, remember those 865 specialty dyed shirts I mentioned in a previous post? We finally got around to printing those and on big runs like that, my presence is required in the shop to fold and stack as they come off the dryer. It can get a little monotonous, so I decided to challenge myself to see how large of a wall I could build.

Screen Shot 2015-05-30 at 3.20.22 PM

Here’s me with my creation. And, yes, it was about to topple over on me. I think next time, I’m gonna try for a pyramid…  Only 8 hours and 26 minutes left on this latest download. Did I mention my views on technology?

Standard

Leave a Reply

