Farm, Food, Garden

Sweet Potato Dreamin’

I graduated college exactly two year and two days ago. And, I had no idea where life would take me. Well, so far today I have: tracked down and ordered 865 specialty dyed t-shirts, planted 64 sweet potato slips (17 of which were grown in my kitchen window) and cooked 1 vat of smoked chicken stock. This is an improvement from yesterday, which was spent sewing 125 koozies together to send out to a band in Omaha. Although, yesterday did include baking a chocolate cake made with bananas and applesauce. Pretty sure this is not where I would’ve guessed life would’ve taken me in two years. But, what can I say? My life is weird.

Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 6.51.34 AM

Did you know that you grow sweet potato slips in water? Last year was my first year to grow sweet potatoes and they were a huge success. Literally. These potatoes came out of the ground and some of them weighed 2 and 3 lbs per potato. They were giant. I purchased the slips from a local feed store. But, this year, I wanted to try growing the slips for myself. So, I read about it online and saw how to grow them, but to be honest, I was a little bit skeptical. I bought my potatoes (organic varieties from a food co-op) and put them in mason jars in the window sill and let nature do it’s thing.

Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 6.51.50 AM

A month later and here we are. These things are crazy! The leaves sprout out of the potatoes and will grow under water. I am pretty fascinated by them. I did buy 50 sweet potato slips from the same feed store this year. I was reluctant, but my dad claimed that I needed them as “insurance”. I assured him that my window sill experiment would yield us as many slips as we needed. And, it has. So, in short, we should have an abundance of sweet potatoes come Fall.

Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 6.57.30 AM

My great grandpa farmed sweet potatoes on the same land that I am now growing them on. He grew so many that he was known in the area for growing them and would have people stop by to buy them from him. I’m thinking I might follow in his footsteps if this harvest turns out. I always dreamed of being a sweet potato farmer. Sometimes dreams do come true.

Standard

One thought on “Sweet Potato Dreamin’

  1. Melanie says:

    Brittney, Jesse’s mom here! I just wanted to say how VERY much I enjoy reading your blog. You have a tremendous gift for writing, and I truly hope one day you write a book of your many adventures — whether at home in your garden or abroad — because I would certainly buy it and read it cover to cover — probably more than once!! I am very much looking forward to meeting you in a few weeks’ time! Until then, happy gardening, stitching, eating, standard driving…and whatever else you can make into an exciting and writable experience 🙂 If you were staying here longer, we could likely add content for a few more blog posts! Melanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

