Farm, Food, Garden

On Guard!

I have a cow. Her name is Ellie. Because she had an L on her head and I bought her when I was 14, so that seemed like an appropriate name. Actually, it still seems pretty appropriate.

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 2.58.18 PM

Growing up on a farm gave me the opportunity to learn a lot of different things. And when I say opportunity, what I really mean is necessity. As in, I was an extra set of hands, so I was just told what to do and how to do it. Which, I guess, is a pretty effective way to learn.

The other day, dad decided to teach me about fencing. Not the medieval, stick a fake sword into you kind of fencing. Like fixing fence. So probably no one else calls that fencing, except for me. After he showed me how to clip the barbwire to the posts, he decided to impart some knowledge to me. “A cow can get their head through there if they find a slick spot, but these barbs are gonna cut a little bit.” Well, yeah, they are.

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 9.58.25 PM

I proved him correct, two seconds later, after the wire popped back and caught my cheek. Luckily, it’s just a scratch. But, I’m pretty prone to incidences like this. If I can spill it, drop it, lose it, stain it, trip over it, hit my head on it, it’ll happen. You get the vibe. I walked through my door the other day and managed to get one of my belt loops stuck on the door knob. How does this happen? I have no idea. But, I about fell down trying to get myself unlatched. The fence did get done though, not much thanks to me.

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 9.58.04 PM

Leave me in the garden and I’ll be good. There’s not much to hurt yourself there, just me and the dirt and the seeds. I currently have snap peas and cabbage seedlings coming up. And, a load of raspberry offshoots that I am trying to transplant to everywhere else. Basically, they’re taking over and I’m in the process of reallocating all the land to make a raspberry farm. Newest additions to the seed startlings? Parsnips, rutabagas, radishes, and beets. I spent all winter picking out exactly what I wanted to plant and it’s finally time. Things are starting to get serious around here.

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 3.14.05 PM

Standard

Leave a Reply

