Asia, Religion, Travel

Shameless

I love seeing monks with cell phones. It is like a total clash of culture in my brain. You always think of monks spending their days in pagodas, lighting incense to Buddha, or out collecting rice for alms. But, they have iPhones and Facebook and other modern technologies. One of the monks I met through a university English group friended me on Facebook and he sends me game requests all. the. time. (PSA: I hate game requests.) So today, I did what all good American girls do. I took a casual selfie. In which I happened to capture a monk having a cappuccino behind me. (Total coincidence, I assure you)

Casual

Casual

I’m just pretty fascinated by them. Maybe it’s the orange they wear. I love that color. So, I continued to take selfies with them all day. No shame in my game.

Finding pleasure in the simple things in life. Like selfies.

Finding pleasure in the simple things in life. Like selfies.

I think a lot of people are curious about what monks do exactly, so I have compiled my very own list.

#1: Monks travel together. They also travel separately, but I see a lot of them out on excursions in a group.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 5.29.36 PM

#2: Monks take in the sights. I captured this one taking a picture at a waterfall. I’m sneaky, I know.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 5.29.50 PM

#3: Monks rent a van and drive around together. Closely related to #1, but not exactly the same.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 5.31.42 PM

#4: Monks talk to us at airports. This one asked us where we were from and when we said Arkansas, he said the pigs. Apparently, Woo Pig Sooie is world famous. Go Hogs! (Side note: Jake caught on to what I was doing at this point.)

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 5.30.10 PM

#5: Monks ride the subway. And, they have reserved seats. On the subways in Bangkok, if a monk is on board, you are expected to give up your seat for them. Where can I sign up? Because did I mention how crowded the subways can get?

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 5.39.52 PM

Jake and I were tucked in there moments before

Jake and I were tucked in there moments before

So, the next time someone asks you: just what do monks actually do? You will now have some starter conversation points. And for that, you are welcome.

Standard

One thought on “Shameless

  1. Kate McKain says:

    you are a great writer (did you miss you’re calling?) Anyway, I enjoy reading your blog and always come away with a smile. keep it up!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

