Asia, Culture, Fashion, Religion, Travel

Fittings and Fitting In

We (as believers) are called to be not of this world. I don’t know how well I do with that calling. But, I can assure you that I am definitely not of this part of the world.

We don’t really fit in around here. We look different, we act different, we have different customs, we speak a different language. And, it goes on and on. I am used to fitting in, so not fitting in takes some getting used to. We get stared at pretty much everywhere we go. Jake literally doesn’t fit in around here.

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit B

On my to do list in Laos was to get a traditional Lao skirt made. They have a very specific style of skirt and all the women here wear one. I’m thinking even wearing the skirt won’t exactly make me blend, but it’s an effort. Fortunately for me, this was pre-arranged and when I got here, I was readied for a fitting. I had no idea these were custom tailored, to be honest. I thought you just went and bought one.

Our hostesses on the ends are both wearing Lao skirts

Our hostesses on the ends are both wearing Lao skirts

But, the fabric was already purchased and I was told we would be going to a Vietnamese woman’s house because she is the best seamstress in town. She’ll make you a skirt for about $5. Little did I know that she also ran a business of teaching Vietnamese to Lao children. We arrived to see a pile of little shoes outside (because it’s customary to take your shoes off before entering) and more kids being dropped off on motorbikes.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 4.49.46 PM

After it was explained to her in broken Lao that I was there for a fitting, she invited me into the “classroom” and proceeded to take all my measurements in front of her class. Which they all found to be extremely funny. And quite a spectacle. So much for trying to fit in.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 4.51.06 PM

Standard

Leave a Reply

